ALROSA to establish own security service

Our contacts

Moscow Office

115184, Ozerkovskaya nab., 24


T: +7 (495) 620-92-50
+7 (495) 411-75-25

Moscow, June 29, 2016 – PJSC ALROSA, the world leader in diamond mining, has announced that it was authorized to establish a departmental security service to protect the Company’s production facilities.

Based on the amendments to Article 8 of the Federal Law of April 14, 1999, No. 77-FZ On Departmental Security Service approved today by the Council of the Federation, ALROSA’s relevant subdivisions will “protect diamond mining facilities fully owned by the said strategic joint-stock company and its affiliates”.

The previous version of Article 8 of the Federal Law On Departmental Security Service provided not for organizations entitled to create a departmental security service but for protected facilities. Therefore, the federal law must provide for the right to create its own security service by PJSC ALROSA.

ALROSA is on the list of strategic enterprises under the Decree of the President of the Russian Federation, and the new version of the Law provides for the Company’s right to establish a departmental security service (by analogy with such companies as Rosneft, Transneft, Gazprom, and others). The draft law was approved by the Ministry of Internal Affairs of the Russian Federation (General Administration for Private Security) and Ministry of Finance of the Russian Federation (as the Company’s supervisory authority).

“Adoption of amendments will allow increasing safety of the Company’s production facilities located in remote and hard-to-reach regions of our country, and the state will be able to save up to RUB 200 million a year,” says Rinat Gizatulin, ALROSA Vice President.

In the current version of the Law, departmental security is the total of governing bodies, material and human resources aimed at the protection from security incidents, provision of pass and access regimes, as well as prevention and suppression of crime and administrative offences at protected facilities.

This page was last updated on 29 June 2016 at 17.33